The Canadian, Day 5

Today I woke up on the outskirts of Greater Vancouver, judging by the signs in this industrial area. The steward has just announced we’ll be arriving in Vancouver in one hour.

Thus concludes my journey. Though the journey spanned five calendar days, I left late on Thursday night and I’m arriving early Monday morning, so it’s more like four nights and three days. (A total travelling time of 3 days and 14.5 hours.) Because I travelled over a weekend, I only lost one day of office time and gained a scenic weekend.

The trip roughly breaks down to one day in the forests of Ontario, one day across the plains of Manitoba and Saskatchewan, and one day across the mountains of Alberta and British Columbia.

In retrospect, I should have done my work on the second day, when my mobile internet connection was good and the scenery was less interesting. (Sorry, Manitoba. Sorry, Saskatchewan.)

From here I take a bus to Whistler to attend what Mozilla calls a “work week” — a collection of presentations, team meetings, and planning sessions. It ends with a party on Friday night, the theme of which is “lumberjack”. (Between the bears and the hipsters, don’t I already get enough of people dressing like lumberjacks back in Toronto?)

Because I’m a giant hypocrite, I’ll be flying back to Toronto. But I heartily recommend travel by Via Rail. Their rail passes (good for visiting multiple destinations, or doing a round trip) are an especially good deal.

I wonder what Kylie Minogue has to say about rail travel.

Leave a Reply

